Skip to content

AOD-9604

Status Not approved for human useBest evidence E2Sources checked 2026-09-17

Every human trial of AOD-9604 was oral or intravenous. None was subcutaneous, which is the only route anyone uses, and the near-universal figure of 300 micrograms injected daily sits between the two lowest oral tablet doses of the 24 week study that ended the programme, a study that failed. Six randomised trials in around 900…

Identity

Sequence
YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF. Tyr-Leu-Arg-Ile-Val-Gln-Cys-Arg-Ser-Val-Glu-Gly-Ser-Cys-Gly-Phe, 16 residues, cyclised by a disulfide bond between Cys7 and Cys14. Equivalently hGH(176-191) with Phe176 substituted by tyrosine, or hGH(177-191) with an N-terminal tyrosine added.
Formula
C78H123N23O23S2
Molar mass
1815.1 g/mol for the disulfide-cyclised form. The reduced linear form is about 1817.1, which vendor certificates sometimes quote instead.
CAS
221231-10-3

What it is

AOD-9604 is a synthetic peptide of 16 amino acids, cyclised by a disulfide bond between its two cysteines, taken from the tail end of human growth hormone. Its one letter sequence is YLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF. It came out of Monash University in Melbourne in the 1990s, was developed by Metabolic Pharmaceuticals as an oral obesity tablet, and was later renamed LAT8881 by Lateral Pharma and turned toward pain. It has never been approved as a medicine anywhere.

The description repeated almost everywhere is wrong. AOD-9604 is usually called hGH 176-191 with a tyrosine added to the N-terminus. Mature growth hormone residue 176 is phenylalanine, per UniProt P01241, so hGH(176-191) is FLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF, already 16 residues. AOD-9604 is also 16 residues. It is hGH(176-191) with the phenylalanine at 176 substituted by tyrosine, which is the same statement as hGH(177-191) with a tyrosine added at the front. Adding a tyrosine to the 16-mer would give a 17-mer, YFLRIVQCRSVEGSCGF, which nobody has studied or sold.

The formulae settle it. AOD-9604 is C78H123N23O23S2 and hGH(176-191) is C78H123N23O22S2, differing by a single oxygen atom, the hydroxyl that distinguishes tyrosine from phenylalanine, a mass difference of 16.0 daltons. Appending a whole tyrosine would add about 163.2 daltons. The primary literature uses the 177-191 convention: Cox 2014 describes amino acids 177-191 with an additional N-terminal tyrosine, and the sponsor’s own review calls it Tyr-hGH177-191.

This is not pedantry. HGH Fragment 176-191 is sold separately, is a different molecule one hydroxyl away, and has essentially no human trial record of its own. Almost all human data attributed to it is in fact AOD-9604 data.

Mechanism, and where the species boundary sits

The mechanism given on most pages is the beta-3 adrenergic receptor. The paper cited for it concluded the opposite. Heffernan 2001 dosed obese mice and beta-3 receptor knockout mice for 14 days and reported, in its own abstract, that the lipolytic actions of both growth hormone and AOD9604 are not mediated directly through the beta-3 receptor, although both raise its expression. That is a partial negative, not a positive.

It also does not transfer across species. Human fat cells carry far fewer beta-3 receptors than mouse fat cells, and the selective human beta-3 agonist L-796568 failed to reduce weight or raise 24 hour energy expenditure in obese men over 28 days, per Kennett and Clifton 2010. Gary Wittert of the University of Adelaide, who ran five of the six human studies, told ABC Science in 2013 that the drug does not work in people because “the receptor on which it appears to be dependent is not the same in mice and humans,” adding: “I cannot understand why athletes are taking it.”

The current mechanism candidate is narrower. Spanswick 2026 pulled down LanCL1, lanthionine synthetase C-like protein 1, as the binding target of the active metabolite in rat spinal cord, validated by siRNA knockdown in dorsal root ganglion. Harpur 2023 reports the peptide acts independently of the growth hormone receptor, so legacy database annotations naming that receptor are out of date. Both findings are rodent and in vitro, both sit in a pain context, and neither has anything to do with fat.

One pharmacokinetic figure is worth carrying. In pigs the intravenous half-life was around 3 minutes, per Moré and Kenley 2014, while oral dosing gave an area under the curve 8.5 times higher. The molecule was developed as a tablet for a reason.

What the six human trials actually did

Metabolic Pharmaceuticals ran six randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled studies, METAOD001 to METAOD006, in roughly 900 people. Four were oral. Two were intravenous. None was subcutaneous. FDA states the gap in its own words: the nominations “did not include, and we did not identify human exposure data on this substance administered via two of the proposed routes of administration (ROAs), SC or topical.” The first four were safety and pharmacokinetic studies at single intravenous doses of 25 to 400 micrograms per kilogram and oral doses of 9 to 54 mg.

METAOD005 produced the famous number. 300 adults with obesity, oral once daily, arms of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 30 mg against placebo, 12 weeks. Kennett and Clifton 2010, the peer-reviewed source, reports mean weight loss of 2.6 kg in the 1 mg arm against 0.8 kg on placebo, a difference of 1.8 kg. The sponsor announcement of December 2004 gave 2.8 kg against the same 0.8 kg. Both figures are real, and the peer-reviewed one is the higher tier.

The qualifier that never travels with the number is that the dose response was inverted. The lowest dose produced the largest effect and the higher doses less, the 10 mg arm showing a smaller reduction than the 1 mg arm. A monotonic dose response is one of the standard checks on whether an effect is real, and this one failed it. The follow-on study then tested 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mg.

That follow-on study, METAOD006, named OPTIONS, was the confirmatory one: 536 enrolled and 502 randomised adults with obesity, oral tablets once daily, 24 weeks, primary endpoint weight loss at 12 weeks across the three dose levels against placebo. It failed. FDA’s 2024 review states the study “enrolled 536 patients with obesity and did not find a significant difference in weight loss,” and quotes the developer saying the results “do not support the commercial viability of the drug as a treatment for obesity.” Wittert, on the six month trial: “quite clearly there was no effect on weight.” The programme was terminated in 2007.

No arm-level kilogram figures for the 24 week study have ever been published: not in the sponsor safety paper, the sponsor review, the Australian registry record or FDA’s briefing document. Any page quoting a weight change for that study is quoting something that does not exist. Across the programme, the number of human trials in which AOD-9604 met a prespecified efficacy endpoint is zero.

The trials nobody connects to it

Lateral Pharma acquired the asset in 2015, renamed it LAT8881, abandoned obesity and redeveloped it for pain. Three registered trials ran under that name and they are the only AOD-9604 human trials with NCT numbers. NCT03865953, a phase 2a oral crossover in 53 people with painful diabetic neuropathy or post-herpetic neuralgia. NCT04153409, an oral proof of concept in 21 people with episodic migraine. NCT05298306, a two part phase 1 in 26 people, intravenous, in lumbar radicular pain.

All three are marked completed with results posted, but those posted numbers could not be verified for this entry, so no outcome figure is attributed to them here. Nothing was published in the peer-reviewed literature, neither indication was carried forward, and the company’s plan as of September 2025 is to start again with a shorter six amino acid peptide, LAT9997.

Safety, and the phrase to be careful with

The consolidated safety publication, Stier 2013, concludes that AOD9604 “displayed a very good safety and tolerability profile indistinguishable from placebo.” That sentence is the sponsor’s. It sits in a journal not indexed in PubMed or MEDLINE, is co-authored by an employee of Metabolic Pharmaceuticals, and was published to satisfy a condition attached to the company’s own GRAS determination. It is also the only consolidated account of the six trials, so it is indispensable and low tier at once.

The underlying numbers are less smooth. Adverse event rates were high in every arm, including placebo: 88.9 percent during the treatment phase of the 12 week study and 78.7 percent in the 24 week study, where the arm by arm range of 75.6 to 83.2 percent does genuinely overlap placebo. Headache dominated the intravenous studies, reported by 16 of 23 subjects in one. Gastrointestinal events rose at the 54 mg oral dose.

The 12 week study recorded five serious adverse events among 300 people, all neoplasms: basal cell carcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, melanoma, breast cancer and a lipoma. The investigators judged none treatment related, and among adults with a body mass index of 35 or above some incidental diagnoses over 12 weeks are expected. That judgement is probably right, and the cluster still belongs in a safety summary.

On immunogenicity, no anti-AOD9604 antibodies were detected in the subsets assayed. The subsets were selected rather than complete, the routes oral and intravenous, the longest exposure 24 weeks. FDA has separately written that it “is concerned about the potential for immunogenicity of AOD-9604 (free base) when formulated in an injectable dosage form for SC administration due to the potential for aggregation.” Non-immunogenic overstates what was measured: no antibodies were found by the routes tested, and the route people use was never tested.

Regulatory status, precisely

There is no approval anywhere. WADA describes it as a substance still under pre-clinical and clinical development that “has not been approved for therapeutic use by any government health authority.” It is prohibited in sport at all times, at section S2.2.3 among growth hormone fragments, with hGH 176-191 beside it as a separate substance.

Calling it FDA approved, or FDA GRAS, is a category error twice over. What exists is a self-affirmed conditional GRAS determination announced in June 2012 by a privately convened panel, for an intended oral food use of up to 1 mg per day, conditional on publishing the pre-existing safety data. FDA grants nothing in that process, and neither a GRN number nor a new dietary ingredient notification was located, which are checked-and-not-found negatives rather than proven absences. A food determination at 1 mg a day by mouth is not a safety finding for an injection.

FDA’s written position is dated 5 November 2024: “we believe the evaluation criteria weigh against placing AOD-9604 (free base) or AOD-9604 acetate on the list of bulk drug substances.” That briefing document also finds the free base “not physically and chemically well characterized,” states that “there is a lack of evidence to support the effectiveness of AOD-9604 (free base) and AOD-9604 acetate for the treatment of obesity,” and cautions that the absence of adverse event reports “does not imply that the substance is safe or lacks toxicities.” The advisory committee is reported to have rejected it on 4 December 2024, a fact carried only by an advocacy group’s account with no vote counts located, and it now sits on FDA’s list of substances nominated but withdrawn.

What the record gets wrong

The human fat cell result belongs to another molecule. Heffernan 2000 is cited constantly for the claim that AOD-9604 increases lipolysis in human adipose tissue. That paper is about AOD-9401, a different and earlier Metabolic analogue, and says so in its title and abstract. No human tissue study of AOD-9604 exists.

The founding paper argues against the headline claim. Wu and Ng 1993, titled for the antilipogenic action of the synthetic 177-191 sequence, reported that “no significant lipolytic effect of hGH 177-191 was found” in rat fat pads and concluded the fragment acts on lipogenesis rather than lipolysis. The oldest paper in the lineage says close to the opposite of the framing built on it.

Glucose safety is being read as efficacy. The human trials measured glucose tolerance, insulin sensitivity and IGF-1 and found no adverse effect, and no effect on IGF-1 at all. That is a real and well supported safety finding: the peptide avoids what growth hormone does. It is not evidence that it does anything to fat, which the same programme twice failed to show.

And the dose is the wrong route from the wrong study. The 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mg daily figures are genuine, and they were oral tablets in the 24 week trial that missed its primary endpoint. They are not injection doses, no human has received this peptide subcutaneously in any trial, and the most repeated number on the open web is a failed trial’s tablet dose wearing a syringe.

What is not known

Whether it causes fat loss in a human being at any dose by any route. The 12 week study produced a signal at its lowest dose, the 24 week confirmatory study found no significant difference against placebo, and no third study was ever run. The arm-level weight numbers for the 24 week study have never been published anywhere.

Whether subcutaneous injection does anything at all. Not one of the nine human trials used that route. FDA states it did not identify human exposure data by the subcutaneous or topical route, which means the route in universal real-world use is entirely untested.

Anything beyond 24 weeks. The longest human exposure on record is 24 weeks of oral dosing at a maximum of 1 mg a day. The longest exposure above 1 mg a day is 12 weeks. The chronic animal toxicology, 6 months in rats and 9 months in monkeys, was oral in both species; no chronic subcutaneous toxicology has been published.

Whether the LanCL1 target identified by Spanswick 2026 is engaged in humans. That work was a photoaffinity pulldown in rat spinal cord with siRNA validation in rat dorsal root ganglion, in a pain model. No human target engagement has been shown for any receptor or binding partner.

What the serious adverse events referenced on FDA’s current bulk substances listing actually are. That listing says FDA “has also identified serious adverse events that may be associated with AOD-9604, though causality is not clear,” while the November 2024 briefing document says the adverse event database search retrieved no reports. The two FDA statements sit in tension and the events are not itemised in any document located.

Whether material sold under the name is the compound. FDA states that specific tests for AOD-9604, including tests for impurities, aggregates, microbial content and bacterial endotoxin, are not available in the public domain. AOD-9604 has been identified in confiscated vials in the United States and in unknown preparations seized in Belgium, and no stability study for reconstituted material was located.

Doses used in published research

Amounts administered under a trial protocol. Not dosing, not a recommendation.
TrialPopulationDose armsDurationWhat it measured
METAOD00115 healthy men, BMI 24 to 30, 14 completed25 to 400 micrograms per kilogram, single intravenous dosesSingle doses with a 7 day washoutSafety, tolerability and pharmacokinetics
METAOD00223 men with obesity, BMI 35 or above25, 50 and 100 micrograms per kilogram, single intravenous dosesSingle doses with a 7 day washoutSafety and tolerability
METAOD00436 men with obesity, BMI 30 or above9, 27 or 54 mg once daily, oral7 daysSafety, oral glucose tolerance, fasting glucose and insulin
METAOD005300 adults with obesity, BMI 35 or above1, 5, 10, 20 or 30 mg once daily, oral, or placebo12 weeks, after a 2 week run inBody weight
METAOD006, OPTIONS502 randomised adults with obesity, BMI 30 to 45; 536 enrolled per FDA0.25, 0.5 or 1 mg once daily as oral tablets, or placebo24 weeks, after a 4 week run inWeight loss against placebo at 12 weeks
NCT0386595353 adults with painful diabetic peripheral neuropathy or post-herpetic neuralgiaLAT8881 30 mg twice daily, oral, or placebo, crossover4 weeks per periodChange in mean numeric pain rating scale score at week 4
NCT0529830626 adults in two parts: 8 healthy volunteers in part A, patients with confirmed lumbar disc herniation in part BPart A, single ascending intravenous doses of 0.8, 1.2 and 1.8 mg per kilogram infused over five minutes; part B, a single intravenous dose at the part A maximum tolerated dose against placeboSingle doses; part A gave three doses over seven daysPart A safety; part B change in visual analogue pain score over six hours

No dose of AOD-9604 has been established as safe or effective, and no dose has ever been administered subcutaneously in a published human trial. The literature does contain doses, by two other routes, and they are recorded here as history rather than instruction.

Intravenous, single doses: 25 to 400 micrograms per kilogram in 15 healthy men (METAOD001), and 25, 50 and 100 micrograms per kilogram in 23 men with obesity (METAOD002). Both were safety and tolerability studies.

Oral: single doses of 9, 27 and 54 mg (METAOD003); 9, 27 and 54 mg daily for 7 days (METAOD004); 1, 5, 10, 20 and 30 mg once daily for 12 weeks in 300 adults with obesity (METAOD005); and 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mg once daily as tablets for 24 weeks in 502 randomised adults with obesity (METAOD006). The 12 week study showed a signal at the lowest dose with an inverted dose response. The 24 week study, which was the confirmatory one, found no significant difference in weight loss against placebo.

Under the name LAT8881, three later trials used oral 30 mg twice daily for four weeks in neuropathic pain (NCT03865953), a single oral 60 mg dose per migraine attack (NCT04153409), and intravenous 0.8 to 1.8 mg per kilogram infused over five minutes (NCT05298306). Posted results for those three could not be verified for this entry, so no outcome is attached to them.

Two exposure figures are worth holding next to each other. The highest human dose by any route was intravenous, around 1.8 mg per kilogram, which is roughly 144 mg in an 80 kg adult. The obesity programme’s top dose in the confirmatory trial was 1 mg orally. These are not comparable exposures and nothing that circulates sits near either.

Compiled from: ACTRN12605000067673, the 24 week phase 2b obesity study; Kennett and Clifton 2010, Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics; NCT03865953, oral LAT8881 in neuropathic pain; NCT04153409, oral LAT8881 in acute migraine; NCT05298306, intravenous LAT8881 in lumbar radicular pain; FDA Briefing Document, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 5 November 2024; Stier 2013, Journal of Endocrinology and Metabolism

No dose has been established as safe or effective for any indication.

Amounts above record what a named source reported administering in a study. They are not a recommendation, not a protocol, and not instructions.

Converting a vial and a syringe into a draw volume is a separate, mechanical question from what amount to use. The reconstitution calculator does that arithmetic for peptide, HCG, and HGH vials.

What circulates E5

Figures reported online. Not dosing, not verified, not endorsed.
Reported useRouteAmount reportedFrequencyReported length
Fat loss, the dominant protocolSubcutaneous300 mcgOnce daily, fasted, morning12 to 24 weeks
Fat loss, the stated wider rangeSubcutaneous250 to 500 mcg, with advanced figures to 1 mgOnce dailyNot specified
Joints, cartilage, recoveryNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specifiedNot specified
In blends with other peptidesSubcutaneousNot determinable from the vialOnce dailyNot specified

Circulating material is unusually consistent about this one. The dominant figure is 300 micrograms injected subcutaneously once a day, fasted, in the morning, in cycles of 12 to 24 weeks, with a stated range of 250 to 500 micrograms and advanced figures up to 1 mg.

Set that beside the record. No human being has received AOD-9604 subcutaneously in any published trial. The human programme was four oral studies and two intravenous ones, and FDA confirms in writing that it did not identify human exposure data by the subcutaneous or topical route. The route in the circulating protocol has never been tested in a person.

The number is borrowed from somewhere specific. The 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mg daily figures that anchor the circulating range are the dose arms of the 24 week phase 2b study, where they were oral tablets, and that study did not find a significant difference in weight loss against placebo. So 300 micrograms sits between the two lowest tablet doses of the trial that ended the programme. Some circulating material describes those trial doses as subcutaneous outright, which is the single cleanest error in the material: wrong route, and a number taken from the negative study, and presented as established.

What the circulating material leaves out is the whole second half of the story. The 24 week failure. The inverted dose response in the 12 week study, where higher doses produced less weight loss than 1 mg. The February 2007 termination of the obesity programme. The 3 minute intravenous half-life measured in pigs, which makes once daily injection hard to justify pharmacologically. And FDA’s written finding that subcutaneous formulation specifically raises an aggregation-related immunogenicity concern.

Two further claims travel with the protocol and neither has a source. Reconstituted stability of 30 to 45 days refrigerated: no stability study for reconstituted AOD-9604 was located in any peer-reviewed or regulatory document, and FDA states that tests for impurities, aggregates, microbial content and endotoxin are not in the public domain at all. Fasted morning timing for optimal effect: no human trial of AOD-9604 compared fasted against fed dosing or tested time of day.

Blends are sold and discussed, usually with growth hormone secretagogues. There is no clinical trial of AOD-9604 in any blend, and where a vial is labelled by combined peptide weight the amount of AOD-9604 in a single injection cannot be worked out from the label. Joint, cartilage and recovery uses also circulate with no figures attached; the evidence behind them is one study of 32 rabbits given weekly injections into the knee.

Recorded as an observation about what is published elsewhere. No figure here is a dose, a protocol, or a recommendation, and nothing in this section is evidence that any amount is safe or effective.

Sources

  1. US Food and Drug Administration. Briefing document on AOD-9604 (free base) and AOD-9604 acetate for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee, 5 November 2024. The highest-tier independent assessment in existence: recommends against 503A listing, finds a lack of evidence of effectiveness, finds the free base not well characterised chemically, flags subcutaneous immunogenicity from aggregation, and records the absence of human subcutaneous or topical exposure data. FDA-2024-N-4777
  2. US Food and Drug Administration. Current listing placing AOD-9604 under bulk drug substances nominated but withdrawn, stating that the agency lacks sufficient information to know whether the drug would cause harm and has identified serious adverse events that may be associated with it, causality unclear. FDA bulk drug substances listing
  3. Stier H, Vos E, Kenley D. Safety and tolerability of the hexadecapeptide AOD9604 in humans. The only consolidated publication of the six-trial human programme, supplying designs, n, routes, dose arms, adverse event rates, IGF-1, glucose and antibody results. Human, but sponsor-published: not indexed in PubMed or MEDLINE, third author affiliated with Metabolic Pharmaceuticals, published to satisfy a GRAS condition. Reports no arm-level weight results for either phase 2b study. J Endocrinol Metab 2013;3(1-2):7-15
  4. Moré MI, Kenley D. Safety and metabolism of AOD9604, a novel nutraceutical ingredient for improved metabolic health. Sponsor-published review supplying the Tyr-hGH177-191 identity statement, the animal toxicology programme, the pig 3 minute intravenous half-life and 8.5-fold oral AUC, and the GRAS wording. Animal pharmacokinetics; not indexed in PubMed. DOI 10.14740/jem213w
  5. Kennett GA, Clifton PG. Central and peripheral molecular targets for anti-obesity pharmacotherapy. Peer-reviewed review of human data: supplies the 12 week figures of 2.6 kg at 1 mg daily against 0.8 kg on placebo, the non-monotonic dose response, the 2007 termination after the 536-subject 24 week trial failed, and the independent failure of the human beta-3 agonist L-796568. PMID 20445536
  6. Heffernan M, et al. The effects of human GH and its lipolytic fragment (AOD9604) on lipid metabolism following chronic treatment in obese mice and beta-3 adrenergic receptor knockout mice. Animal only. Concludes the lipolytic actions are not mediated directly through the beta-3 receptor, which is the opposite of the claim it is usually cited for. PMID 11713213
  7. Wu Z, Ng FM. Antilipogenic action of synthetic C-terminal sequence 177-191 of human growth hormone. Animal, rat fat pads. The founding paper of the lineage: found no significant lipolytic effect and concluded the activity is antilipogenic. Its printed sequence transposes Val and Ser, so UniProt should be used as the sequence authority. PMID 8358331
  8. Heffernan MA, Jiang WJ, Thorburn AW, Ng FM. Effects of oral administration of a synthetic fragment of human growth hormone on lipid metabolism. Animal plus in vitro human adipose tissue, but the compound studied is AOD-9401, a different analogue. Cited here only because it is routinely misattributed to AOD-9604. PMID 10950816
  9. Cox HD, Smeal SJ, Hughes CM, Cox JE, Eichner D. Detection and in vitro metabolism of AOD9604. Human matrix and in vitro. The authoritative identity statement, describing amino acids 177-191 with an additional tyrosine at the N-terminus, plus a urine assay at 50 pg/mL, six metabolites and the stable nonapeptide CRSVEGSCG. Notes AOD-9604 found in confiscated vials in the United States. PMID 25208511
  10. Spanswick DC, et al. Lanthionine synthetase C-like protein 1 (LanCL1): a therapeutic target for neuropathic pain. Animal and in vitro. Identifies LanCL1 as the binding target of LAT8881 by photoaffinity pulldown of the active metabolite in rat spinal cord, validated by siRNA knockdown in dorsal root ganglion. Co-authors include Lateral Pharma personnel. PMID 42263267
  11. Harpur CM, et al. Naturally derived cytokine peptides limit virus replication and severe disease during influenza A virus infection. Animal and in vitro. Load-bearing for mechanism because it states LAT8881, the same molecule as AOD-9604, acts independently of the growth hormone receptor, and describes the osteoarthritis effect as shown in an animal model. PMID 36969366
  12. Metabolic Pharmaceuticals Ltd. A phase 2b, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study of 24 weeks treatment with different doses of AOD9604 tablets on weight loss in obese adults. Start 2 August 2005, target sample size 360. The only registry record of the obesity programme, and the document that confirms the route was tablets. No results posted. ACTRN12605000067673
  13. Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd. Phase 2a randomised double-blind placebo-controlled crossover trial of oral LAT8881 30 mg twice daily in painful diabetic peripheral neuropathy and post-herpetic neuralgia, n=53, 2019 to 2020. Completed with results posted; the posted numeric results were not verified for this entry. NCT03865953
  14. Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd. Proof of concept crossover trial of a single oral 60 mg dose of LAT8881 per migraine attack, n=21, 2019 to 2020. Completed with results posted; the posted numeric results were not verified for this entry. NCT04153409
  15. Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd. Two part phase 1 study: intravenous single ascending doses of 0.8, 1.2 and 1.8 mg per kilogram in 8 healthy volunteers, then a crossover single intravenous dose in lumbar radicular pain, n=26 total, 2022 to 2023. Completed with results posted; the posted numeric results were not verified for this entry. NCT05298306
  16. World Anti-Doping Agency. Prohibited List, section S2.2.3, growth hormone fragments, naming AOD-9604 and hGH 176-191 as separate examples. Prohibited at all times. WADA has separately stated the substance has not been approved for therapeutic use by any government health authority. WADA S2.2.3, effective 1 January 2026
  17. Calzada Limited. The primary document behind the GRAS claim: a self-affirmed conditional determination by a privately convened US expert panel, evaluation performed by a contract firm, for an intended oral food use of up to 1 mg per day, conditional on publication of the pre-existing safety data. Not an FDA action. ASX announcement, 25 June 2012
  18. Press reporting, cited here because it carries named-investigator testimony that exists nowhere else. Professor Gary Wittert of the University of Adelaide, who ran five of the six human studies, on the six month trial: quite clearly there was no effect on weight; on mechanism: the receptor on which it appears to be dependent is not the same in mice and humans; on repeat dosing: we simply do not know what would occur with repeated injections. ABC Science, 26 July 2013