This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Aleniglipron (GSBR-1290) | Tesofensine | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not approved for human use |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Obesity | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C49H55FN9O6P, per PubChem (CID 164809721) | C17H23Cl2NO free base; C23H31Cl2NO8 as the 1:1 citrate salt used in the clinical tablets |
| Molar mass | Approximately 916 g/mol, calculated from the PubChem formula; not independently cross-confirmed | 328.3 g/mol free base; 520.4 g/mol citrate salt |
| CAS number | 2685823-26-9, per commercial chemical vendor listings; not independently cross-confirmed against a regulatory database | 195875-84-4 free base; 195875-86-6 citrate |
| Registered trials on this site | None linked yet | 6 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Not stated | Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | Not stated | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Not stated | NeuroSearch A/S, Boehringer Ingelheim |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | SCEPTRE, NCT00148486: NS 2330 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo for 14 weeks ADVANS, NCT00148512: NS 2330 0.125, 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo, five parallel groups for 14 weeks NCT00153010: Three doses of NS 2330 once daily, oral, or placebo; the doses are not stated in the registry record for 14 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
| What is not known | Not stated | Whether it is cardiovascularly safe, in either direction. No trial has ever measured myocardial infarction, stroke, cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure on tesofensine. The two year cardiovascular safety study in the planned phase 3 programme was never run, and the longest exposure in... |
Full pages: Aleniglipron (GSBR-1290) and Tesofensine. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.