This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Brenipatide | Survodutide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | In clinical development, not approved |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Addiction & Mental Health | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | C192H289N47O61, from a chemical supplier data sheet only, not confirmed against a peer-reviewed or regulatory source |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | 4231.7, from a chemical supplier data sheet only, not confirmed against a peer-reviewed or regulatory source |
| CAS number | Not reliably established. | 2805997-46-8, from vendor catalogues, and salt-form assignments in those catalogues are not reliable |
| Registered trials on this site | 4 in the tracker | 14 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | 3 | 2 |
| Trial sponsors | Eli Lilly and Company | Boehringer Ingelheim |
| What is not known | Whether brenipatide reduces drinking or depressive symptoms in its phase 3 trials has not been established; topline data is expected around 2028. The specific per-arm doses used in the three phase 3 RENEW trials have not been independently confirmed from sources reviewed for this page... | Whether survodutide raises energy expenditure in a human being. That is the central mechanistic claim made for the compound, it rests on rodent indirect calorimetry that reached significance at one dose on two days with no change in core temperature or activity, and it has... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | NCT04153929: Survodutide up to 0.3, 0.9, 1.8 or 2.7 mg once weekly, or 1.2 or 1.8 mg twice weekly, against placebo and open label semaglutide up to 1.0 mg once weekly for 16 weeks NCT04667377: Survodutide 0.6, 2.4, 3.6 or 4.8 mg once weekly, or placebo, 1:1:1:1:1 for 46 weeks, 20 weeks of escalation then 26 weeks of maintenance NCT04771273: Survodutide 2.4, 4.8 or 6.0 mg once weekly, or placebo, 1:1:1:1 for 48 weeks, 24 weeks of rapid escalation then 24 weeks of maintenance As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Brenipatide and Survodutide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.