This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Brenipatide | Tesofensine | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not approved for human use |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Addiction & Mental Health | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | C17H23Cl2NO free base; C23H31Cl2NO8 as the 1:1 citrate salt used in the clinical tablets |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | 328.3 g/mol free base; 520.4 g/mol citrate salt |
| CAS number | Not reliably established. | 195875-84-4 free base; 195875-86-6 citrate |
| Registered trials on this site | 4 in the tracker | 6 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | 3 | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Eli Lilly and Company | NeuroSearch A/S, Boehringer Ingelheim |
| What is not known | Whether brenipatide reduces drinking or depressive symptoms in its phase 3 trials has not been established; topline data is expected around 2028. The specific per-arm doses used in the three phase 3 RENEW trials have not been independently confirmed from sources reviewed for this page... | Whether it is cardiovascularly safe, in either direction. No trial has ever measured myocardial infarction, stroke, cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure on tesofensine. The two year cardiovascular safety study in the planned phase 3 programme was never run, and the longest exposure in... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | SCEPTRE, NCT00148486: NS 2330 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo for 14 weeks ADVANS, NCT00148512: NS 2330 0.125, 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo, five parallel groups for 14 weeks NCT00153010: Three doses of NS 2330 once daily, oral, or placebo; the doses are not stated in the registry record for 14 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Brenipatide and Tesofensine. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.