Noopept

Quick answer: Noopept is a synthetic dipeptide-derived nootropic (ethyl ester of a phenylacetyl-prolylglycine) sold worldwide as a research chemical and, in the United States, as an unregulated dietary-supplement ingredient. It is approved as a prescription medication in Russia under the name Omberacetam for cognitive impairment following brain injury or vascular disease. Human evidence is limited to a single 56-day comparative trial in patients with existing cognitive impairment; no trial has tested it in healthy people. It works, per the evidence available, mainly as a prodrug that is rapidly converted to cycloprolylglycine, an endogenous dipeptide with its own neurotrophic and antioxidant activity.

Ask about Noopept

Research snapshot

Peptide categorySynthetic nootropic dipeptide derivative (racetam-family adjacent, cycloprolylglycine prodrug)
Primary research interestCognitive impairment following brain injury or cerebrovascular disease; general nootropic use is unstudied
Highest available evidenceTier 2 – one published human comparative trial in a clinical population
Human research availableYes, but limited to a single 56-day trial in cognitively impaired patients; no healthy-subject data
Development statusApproved medication in Russia (Omberacetam); sold as a research chemical/supplement elsewhere with no marketing approval
Regulatory statusPrescription/OTC medication in Russia; unapproved new drug per FDA in the US; Schedule 4 in Australia; controlled substance in Hungary

Technical identity

Primary nameNoopept
Alternative namesOmberacetam (Russian pharmaceutical name), GVS-111, N-phenylacetyl-L-prolylglycine ethyl ester
Chemical classNot a peptide by strict definition – it is a phenylacetyl-proline-glycine ethyl ester, structurally related to but distinct from racetams and from cycloprolylglycine, its main active metabolite
Molecular formulaC17H22N2O4
Molecular weight318.37 g/mol
CAS Registry Number157115-85-0
PubChem CID180496
Active metaboliteCycloprolylglycine (cyclo-Pro-Gly), an endogenous dipeptide; Noopept functions largely as its prodrug
DeveloperInstitute of Pharmacology, Russian Academy of Medical Sciences (first reported 1996)
Development statusApproved and marketed in Russia since the early 2000s; never submitted for approval in the US or EU

What is Noopept?

Noopept is a small synthetic molecule developed in Russia in the 1990s as part of a research program looking for compounds related to the racetam family (piracetam and its relatives) but active at much lower doses. Chemically it is not a racetam and not, strictly, a peptide in the sense this site usually covers – it is an ethyl ester built from phenylacetic acid, proline, and glycine. What makes it relevant to a peptide reference site is that its principal mechanism, as far as the evidence goes, runs through a genuine endogenous dipeptide: once absorbed, Noopept is rapidly hydrolyzed to cycloprolylglycine, a cyclic dipeptide that occurs naturally in the brain and that appears to carry most of the compound’s biological activity.

Noopept was approved as a medication in Russia (brand name Omberacetam) for mild cognitive impairment associated with organic brain disease of vascular or traumatic origin. It was never submitted to the FDA or the EMA, and the United States classifies it as an unapproved new drug – despite which it is widely sold online as a “research chemical” or dietary-supplement ingredient, a gap between legal status and market availability that is common among nootropics of Russian or post-Soviet origin.

How does it work?

Plain-English explanation

Think of Noopept as a delivery vehicle. On its own it does relatively little; once swallowed or absorbed, the body quickly breaks it down into cycloprolylglycine, a small molecule your brain already makes in tiny amounts on its own. That breakdown product appears to support the survival and signaling of neurons, nudge the brain toward producing more of its own growth factors, and calm down certain kinds of inflammation in nerve tissue. The practical upshot, in the one patient population that has actually been studied, is modestly better scores on standard cognitive tests after weeks of daily use – not a fast-acting stimulant effect.

Technical explanation

Animal data point to several converging mechanisms. Cycloprolylglycine, Noopept’s main metabolite, appears to act as a positive allosteric modulator at AMPA receptors and to activate TrkB, the receptor for brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF), producing neurotrophin-like signaling without BDNF itself crossing the blood-brain barrier. Repeated dosing in rats increases hippocampal NGF and BDNF mRNA. Noopept and its metabolite also show antioxidant activity and appear to blunt excitotoxic calcium and glutamate signaling in neuronal injury models, and a 2026 spinal-microglia study found effects on BDNF/pro-BDNF expression tied to a persistent-inflammation and apoptosis pathway in rats. A separate line of evidence describes activation of hypoxia-inducible factor 1 (HIF-1) as a possible upstream mechanism. None of this has been confirmed in human neuroimaging or biomarker studies; it rests entirely on rodent and cell-culture work.

Potential benefits and research applications

Recovery of cognitive function after brain injury or vascular damage

This is the only application with human evidence behind it. In a 56-day randomized comparison against piracetam in patients with mild cognitive impairment from vascular disease or prior traumatic brain injury, Noopept (20 mg/day) produced greater improvement on the Mini-Mental State Examination and related scales than piracetam (1200 mg/day), including in the traumatic-injury subgroup where piracetam did not separate from baseline. Both drugs improved secondary measures of fatigue, anxiety, irritability, and mood. This has been shown in one trial, in a specific clinical population, not in healthy adults.

General nootropic use in healthy adults

This is the use case that drives essentially all of Noopept’s online popularity, and it has not been studied in a single human trial. Everything circulating about focus, memory, or mood benefits in healthy users is anecdotal community reporting, not clinical data. Animal studies actually complicate the healthy-user story: at least one line of rodent research found Noopept impaired memory performance in young, healthy rats even as it restored memory in animals with induced brain damage – the same biphasic, context-dependent pattern seen with piracetam.

Neuroprotection in injury and toxin models

Rodent studies report Noopept improves outcomes across several induced-amnesia models – stroke, ischemia, traumatic brain injury, and chemical toxin exposure – with reported efficacy rates in the 70–90 percent range versus 53–57 percent for piracetam in comparable models. This is being investigated at the mechanistic level (BDNF/NGF induction, antioxidant activity, anti-apoptotic signaling) but has not been tested in a controlled human trial of acute brain injury.

What dosage information circulates?

Figures in this section summarize amounts and schedules reported in published research or circulating online. Their inclusion documents what is reported and does not establish that a regimen is verified, safe, effective, or appropriate.

Reported use or research objectiveRoute reportedAmount reportedFrequency reportedReported durationEvidence or source category
Cognitive recovery, vascular/traumatic brain injuryOral20 mg/day (10 mg twice daily)Twice daily56 daysPublished human clinical trial
General nootropic use (community)Sublingual or oral10–30 mg per dose1–3 times dailyOngoing, commonly cycledCommunity reported
Cycling pattern (community)N/AN/AN/A4–8 weeks on, 2–4 weeks offCommunity reported
Rodent amnesia/neuroprotection modelsOral or injection0.01–0.5 mg/kg (injection), 0.5–30 mg/kg (oral)Varies by studyVaries by studyPublished animal research

Explanation of the reported figures

The 20 mg/day figure is the only dose with a published human trial behind it, and it comes from a clinical population with diagnosed cognitive impairment, not healthy volunteers. Community-reported doses of 10–30 mg circulate widely on nootropic forums and vendor sites; they are consistent in magnitude with the trial dose but were not independently derived from any study – they largely trace back to the same trial figure, rounded and stretched into a range, then repeated across many sites. No dose-ranging study exists to establish whether 10 mg, 20 mg, or 30 mg is more effective, and no data at all exist on doses used for weeks or months at a time in healthy adults, which is how it is actually used by most people taking it. The mandatory-choline-supplementation advice common on nootropic sites (Alpha-GPC or citicoline alongside Noopept) is a community harm-mitigation practice for a reported headache side effect, not something derived from a controlled trial.

Detailed dosage and protocol evidence

Amounts studied in human research

Research objectiveAmount studiedFrequencyDurationRouteStudy populationSource
Cognitive impairment, vascular/traumatic origin20 mg/dayTwice daily56 daysOral53 adults enrolled, 41 completing, comparator-controlled against piracetam 1200 mg/dayOstrovskaya et al. 2008

Amounts studied in animal research

Research objectiveSpecies or modelAmount studiedFrequencyDurationRouteSource
Memory/amnesia modelsRat0.01–0.5 mg/kgSingle or repeated dosing, varies by studyVariesInjectionCompiled preclinical literature (Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation summary)
Memory/amnesia modelsRat0.5–30 mg/kgSingle or repeated, biphasic dose-response reportedVariesOralCompiled preclinical literature
Spinal cord inflammation, BDNF/pro-BDNF expressionRatNot disclosed in retrieved abstractNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedPMC7895721

Practitioner and community-reported protocols

Reported objectiveAmount reportedFrequencyDurationRouteSource typeSource
General nootropic/cognitive support10–30 mg1–3 times daily4–8 weeks on, 2–4 offSublingual preferred, oral also usedCommunity/vendor reportedNootropic guide aggregator sites

Conflicts and unanswered questions

Human pharmacokinetics, including elimination half-life, were described as not well characterized as of a 2017 review, and no more recent human PK study was located. No dose-ranging trial has ever compared multiple Noopept doses against each other in humans, so the community range of 10–30 mg has no independent evidentiary basis beyond the single 20 mg trial dose. No trial of any duration has been conducted in healthy adults, which is the population actually driving most real-world use.

Important published research

Ostrovskaya et al., 2008, Neuroscience and Behavioral Physiology

Comparative trial of Noopept 20 mg/day against piracetam 1200 mg/day over 56 days in 53 enrolled adults (41 completing) with mild cognitive disorders from vascular brain disease or prior traumatic brain injury. Noopept produced greater improvement on the Mini-Mental State Examination and related cognitive scales, was effective in the traumatic-injury subgroup where piracetam was not, and was associated with roughly 1.8-fold fewer reported side effects than the piracetam arm. Limitation: small sample, single trial, clinical population only, not placebo-controlled against an inert comparator (piracetam served as the comparator, not a placebo). In plain terms: this is real evidence Noopept can help a specific group of people with existing brain injury or vascular cognitive impairment – it says nothing about healthy people taking it for everyday focus.

Noopept and spinal microglia/BDNF signaling, PMC7895721

An animal mechanistic study reporting that Noopept modulates persistent inflammation via effects on spinal microglia-dependent BDNF and pro-BDNF expression during an apoptotic process. This supports a plausible mechanism for neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory effects seen elsewhere in the preclinical literature; it is animal-only evidence and does not establish a human clinical benefit.

Timing, duration, and research variables

The only human trial used continuous twice-daily oral dosing for 56 days with no titration or loading phase described. Community protocols commonly describe sublingual administration as preferred over swallowing, reasoning that it bypasses first-pass liver metabolism and reaches the brain faster (reported onset 15–20 minutes sublingually versus 30–60 minutes orally); this route comparison has not been studied in a controlled human trial and comes entirely from community and vendor sources. Continuous long-term dosing beyond 8–12 weeks has no safety data in either direction, which is the stated rationale behind the widely repeated on/off cycling advice.

Combinations and related research

Formally studied combinations: none identified. The human trial tested Noopept alone against piracetam alone, not any combination.

Practitioner and community-reported combinations: pairing with a choline source (Alpha-GPC, commonly cited around 300 mg per Noopept dose, or citicoline/CDP-choline around 250–500 mg/day) is treated as close to mandatory in community guides, on the reasoning that Noopept increases acetylcholine turnover and choline depletion drives the headaches commonly reported at higher doses. This pairing has not been tested in a controlled trial; it is a community harm-mitigation practice built on a plausible but unverified mechanism.

Side effects, risks, and limitations

  • The only formal safety data come from the 56-day trial, where Noopept was associated with about 1.8-fold fewer reported adverse events than the piracetam comparator arm – a comparative, not absolute, safety figure.
  • Community-reported side effects, not derived from controlled data: headache (commonly attributed to choline depletion), mild irritability early in use, insomnia when dosed too late in the day, and brain fog reported at doses above roughly 30 mg/day.
  • No controlled long-term safety data exist beyond the 56-day trial window.
  • As an unregulated research chemical or supplement ingredient in most markets, purity, dose accuracy, and even correct compound identity in any given vial or capsule sold online cannot be assumed.

Regulatory and developmental status

Noopept is an approved, marketed prescription/OTC medication in Russia under the name Omberacetam, used there for mild cognitive impairment following vascular or traumatic brain disease. It has never been submitted for or granted approval by the FDA, EMA, or any Western regulator, and the FDA classifies it as an unapproved new drug; import alerts have been issued against it, despite which it continues to be sold as a dietary-supplement ingredient and research chemical in the US. It is Schedule 4 (prescription-only) in Australia, was added to Hungary’s controlled psychoactive substances list in August 2020, and in the UK is not classified as illegal under the Psychoactive Substances Act but its sale and supply for human consumption are prohibited. Regulatory posture varies by country and can change without notice.

Frequently asked questions

What is Noopept?

A synthetic dipeptide-derived compound, related in effect but not chemically identical to the racetam family, developed in Russia and used there as an approved medication for cognitive impairment after brain injury or vascular disease.

How does it work?

It is largely converted in the body to cycloprolylglycine, a naturally occurring dipeptide thought to support neuron signaling, growth-factor production, and antioxidant activity in the brain, based mainly on animal research.

What dosage has been studied?

Only 20 mg/day (10 mg twice daily), for 56 days, in patients with existing cognitive impairment. No other human dose has been formally studied.

What dosage commonly circulates online?

10–30 mg per dose, taken 1–3 times daily, often sublingually, commonly cycled 4–8 weeks on and 2–4 weeks off. This range is community-reported, not independently studied.

How frequently is it reported?

Most community protocols describe once to three times daily dosing; the one clinical trial used twice-daily dosing.

What routes are reported?

The clinical trial used oral dosing. Community sources commonly prefer sublingual administration, reasoning it reaches the brain faster, though this has not been tested in a controlled trial.

Has it been studied in healthy people?

No. The only human trial enrolled patients with diagnosed cognitive impairment from vascular disease or brain injury. There is no published human data on Noopept in healthy adults, despite that being how most people who take it actually use it.

What side effects have been reported?

In the trial, fewer side effects than the piracetam comparator arm. In community reports: headache, mild irritability, insomnia if dosed late in the day, and brain fog at higher doses, none of which comes from controlled data.

Is it approved anywhere?

Yes, in Russia, as the prescription/OTC medication Omberacetam. It is not approved by the FDA, EMA, or any Western regulator and is sold in the US as an unregulated supplement ingredient despite an FDA import alert against it.

What remains unknown?

Human pharmacokinetics and elimination half-life are not well characterized, no dose-ranging study has ever been done in humans, there is zero controlled data in healthy adults, and no long-term (beyond 56 days) human safety data exist at any dose.

Bottom line

Noopept sits in an unusual spot: it is a real, approved medication in Russia with one published human trial behind it, and simultaneously one of the most widely used unregulated nootropics sold online, almost entirely to healthy people for a use case that trial never tested. The published evidence supports a specific, narrow claim – that 20 mg/day can modestly improve cognitive test scores over eight weeks in people with existing brain injury or vascular cognitive impairment, and was effective in the traumatic-injury subgroup, where piracetam did not separate from baseline in that same trial. Everything else in wide circulation – the 10–30 mg range, the sublingual-is-better claim, the mandatory-choline-stack advice, the cycling schedules, and any claim about benefits in healthy adults – is community practice built on a single small trial in a different population, not independent evidence. Mechanistically, the case for how it might work is reasonably coherent (cycloprolylglycine as an active metabolite with neurotrophic and antioxidant activity in animal models), but it has not been confirmed in human biomarker or imaging studies. It remains unapproved in the US, UK, and EU, and anything purchased as “Noopept” online carries the same purity and identity uncertainty as any other unregulated research chemical.

Sources

  • Ostrovskaya RU, et al. “Comparative studies of Noopept and piracetam in the treatment of patients with mild cognitive disorders in organic brain diseases of vascular and traumatic origin.” Neuroscience and Behavioral Physiology, 2008. PMID 19234797. Published human clinical trial.
  • “Noopept modulates persistent inflammation by effecting spinal microglia dependent BDNF and pro-BDNF expression throughout apoptotic process.” PMC7895721. Published animal research.
  • PubChem. Compound Summary for CID 180496, Noopept. National Center for Biotechnology Information. Chemical identifiers.
  • Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation. “Noopept: Cognitive Vitality For Researchers.” Compiled secondary research summary.
  • Wikipedia. “Omberacetam.” Regulatory status compilation, educational source, not primary evidence.

Sources

  1. Alzheimer’s Drug Discovery Foundation, Cognitive Vitality report on Noopept
  2. PubChem CID 180496 (Noopept)
  3. Noopept BDNF/pro-BDNF spinal microglia study, PMC7895721
  4. Ostrovskaya et al. 2008, Neuroscience and Behavioral Physiology (Noopept vs piracetam trial)

Research area: Neuro and cognitive.