CJC-1295/Ipamorelin is a vendor name for two peptides combined in one vial: a GHRH analogue sold as “CJC-1295” (almost always actually the different, no-DAC molecule) and ipamorelin, a selective ghrelin-receptor agonist. There is no fixed ratio, no INN, and no approved status. Across examined listings, the split ranges from 1:1 to 1:2, several disclose no split at all, and one certificate of analysis didn’t match the product it was posted against. No human trial of the combination has ever been run.
Ask about CJC-1295 + ipamorelin combination
Research snapshot
| Peptide category | Two-component peptide blend (GHRH analogue + ghrelin receptor agonist) |
| Primary research interest | Growth hormone axis stimulation (marketed; not established for this specific combination) |
| Highest available evidence | Tier 5 — class-level mechanistic synergy evidence exists, but not for these specific molecules or this route |
| Human research available | No — zero registered trials of the combination exist |
| Development status | Not a formulated drug product; a compounding/vendor mixture |
| Regulatory status | Neither component approved; both named individually in FDA warning letters and on WADA’s prohibited list |
Technical identity (composition)
| Primary name | CJC-1295/Ipamorelin blend (vendor name) |
| Composition | “CJC-1295” (almost always the different, no-DAC molecule, mod GRF 1-29) + ipamorelin (selective ghrelin receptor agonist) |
| Share of vial by mass | No fixed ratio; 1:1 is the dominant convention across listings, but ranges from 1:1 to 1:2, and some vials disclose no split at all |
| Peptide sequence | Not applicable — a multi-component mixture; see individual CJC-1295 (no DAC) and Ipamorelin pages for each molecule’s sequence |
| Molecular formula | Not applicable — a multi-component mixture, not a single molecular entity |
| CAS Registry Number | Not applicable — no CAS number is assigned to the combination itself |
| Chemical modifications | Not applicable at the combination level; see individual component pages |
| Developer or originator | Not applicable — a vendor/compounding mixture, not a developed drug product |
| Development status | Not in formal development; no INN, no approved status |
What it is
CJC-1295 / ipamorelin is two synthetic peptides weighed into one container: a GHRH analogue sold as CJC-1295, almost always the version without DAC, which is a different molecule called mod GRF 1-29, and ipamorelin, a selective ghrelin receptor agonist. It has no INN, no CAS number and no approved indication anywhere, and it is not a fixed dose combination in the regulatory sense, which would need a ratio justified by dose ranging data and stability data for the two actives. Several listings borrow the language anyway.
What is actually in the vial
Fourteen distinct listings were found. The dominant convention is one to one by mass, and it is a convention, not a standard: no dose ranging study of the pair exists in any species, so nothing argues for equal weights beyond their being easy to weigh.
Totals found were 6 mg as 3 plus 3, 10 mg as 5 plus 5, 15 mg, 18 mg and 20 mg as 10 plus 10, plus a compounded solution and a nasal spray. Five presentations state a total and nothing else. One points the reader to the certificate of analysis or customer support for the composition.
The sharpest case is a 15 mg vial disclosing no split at all. Fifteen does not divide into one to one in whole milligrams, so it is 7.5 plus 7.5, or 10 plus 5, or 5 plus 10, and the buyer cannot tell which.
Nor is one to one safe to assume: one listing is 12 mg of ipamorelin with 6 mg of CJC-1295 without DAC, one to two. Two content notes belong here too: one listing states a deliberate 104 percent overfill, and one certificate of analysis posted against a 10 plus 10 vial reports 5.12 mg and 5.36 mg.
What one injection delivers
Reconstitution volume is one number applied to the whole cake. It divides both components equally and never changes the ratio, fixed when the vial was filled.
Reconstituted with 3 mL, that 15 mg vial holds 5 mg per mL combined whichever way the split falls. A 10 unit draw, 0.1 mL, gives 250 micrograms of each at 7.5 plus 7.5, or 333 of CJC-1295 and 167 of ipamorelin at 10 plus 5, or those reversed at 5 plus 10. Same label, same water, same ten units: ipamorelin delivered ranges from 167 to 333 mcg, a twofold spread in the raw amount, and the CJC-to-ipamorelin ratio itself swings from 0.5 to 2.0, a fourfold swing in that separate ratio measure.
Two published pages found in this research get that arithmetic wrong in print, both off by exactly a factor of two, both from treating combined vial weight as one substance.
And the point nobody makes: ipamorelin weighs about 712 daltons, mod GRF 1-29 about 3,368, so one to one by mass is roughly 4.7 to 1 by moles in favour of ipamorelin. Receptors count molecules, not milligrams.
What has actually been tested
No human trial of the combination exists, and that is confirmed rather than assumed. ClinicalTrials.gov returns four records for CJC-1295 or ipamorelin across the whole registry, one of CJC-1295 alone, two of ipamorelin alone and one caught on a keyword match. PubMed returns ten for the two terms together, all reviews or doping control method papers, none primary.
Against that, a January 2026 review in The American Journal of Sports Medicine states in its abstract that CJC-1295 combined with ipamorelin improved maximum tetanic tension in murine models of glucocorticoid induced muscle loss.
The only study matching that description is Andersen 2001. The species is rat, not mouse, and the combination there is ipamorelin given with the glucocorticoid, not with CJC-1295, which does not appear in it and could not have, since it did not enter the literature until 2005. Only the abstract was retrievable, so this is what that abstract states against what the cited source contains. It is the most authoritative looking claim in the peer reviewed record that this blend has been tested and works.
What dosage information circulates?
Figures in this section summarize amounts and schedules reported in published research or circulating online. Their inclusion documents what is reported and does not establish that a regimen is verified, safe, effective, or appropriate.
| Reported use or research objective | Route reported | Amount reported | Frequency reported | Reported duration | Evidence or source category |
| GH axis stimulation, starting figure | Subcutaneous | 100 mcg of each component | Once daily, usually bedtime | 8–16 weeks, then 4–8 off | Community/vendor reported |
| Titrated figure | Subcutaneous | 100–300 mcg of each component | 1–3x daily | 12–16 weeks, then 4–8 off | Community/vendor reported |
| Stated as blend mass | Subcutaneous | 0.2 mg per injection (total or per-component not specified) | Once daily | Not specified | Community/vendor reported |
| Nasal presentation | Intranasal spray | ~83 mcg of each per actuation | Not specified | Not specified | Community/vendor reported |
Not consistently reported in human or animal research: no trial of this specific combination exists. A direct registry search returns records for CJC-1295 alone and ipamorelin alone, but none combining the two. Circulating figures are written in micrograms of each component, while vials are labeled in combined milligrams with an undisclosed or inconsistent split — no source reviewed bridges the two, and the same reconstitution and draw can deliver a twofold-different dose depending on the unstated ratio.
The synergy claim
The mechanism is real at class level. Popovic 1994 gave twelve normal subjects GHRH alone, the ghrelin mimetic GHRP-6 alone, and both. Growth hormone area under the curve was 686, 1,787 and 4,111, so the pair exceeded the arithmetic sum, which is synergy rather than addition.
So the rationale is real. What does not follow is the claim on the vial. Those studies used native GHRH with GHRP-6, hexarelin or ghrelin, never mod GRF 1-29 and never ipamorelin, whose defining selectivity makes it unlike GHRP-6. They used intravenous boluses, not subcutaneous injection of two peptides of very different size, and measured serum growth hormone for hours after one dose.
Which CJC-1295 is in the vial
Most of what is sold as CJC-1295 in a blend is the version without DAC, whose half life has never been measured in humans, unlike the 5.8 to 8.1 days of the DAC form. A 2026 Frontiers in Endocrinology review states plainly that no human half-life figure exists for the no-DAC form, and that any specific number quoted for it should be treated as invented; the most that can honestly be said is that its action is expected to be on the order of minutes to tens of minutes, by inference from its lack of the DAC albumin-binding modification, not from a measurement. A once daily schedule therefore means something different for each form. At least one listing sells the blend built on the DAC form, and one states no DAC status at all.
Potential benefits and research applications
Enhanced growth hormone release via synergy (the marketed premise)
What is being investigated: nothing specific to this exact vial’s contents, no study has tested mod GRF 1-29 with ipamorelin, by any route, in any species. How the effect might occur: by the documented GHRH+ghrelin-mimetic synergy mechanism described above. Evidence: class-level synergy is real (human data, IV bolus, different molecules). Strength for this specific product: none established, the gap between the studied molecules/route and the marketed product is total. Limitation: even setting aside the molecule mismatch, the entire human synergy literature is single-dose acute testing over 90 to 180 minutes; the circulating protocols propose daily injection for months, a duration nobody has tested for either the individual compounds or the combination.
Body composition, sleep, recovery, and anti-aging claims (unsupported)
What is being investigated: nothing for this combination specifically. Evidence: none, lean mass, fat mass, strength, sleep architecture, injury healing, and skin effects have never been measured for this pair, or for either component alone in a controlled human trial using those endpoints.
Regulatory status
Neither component is approved anywhere. Both appeared on FDA 503A or 503B bulk substance lists at various points, though the two compounds have followed different regulatory tracks that should not be collapsed into one history: ipamorelin’s Category 2 listing was under 503B, while its 503A nomination was separately withdrawn and then voted against 12 to 0 at the 29 October 2024 advisory committee meeting. Some 2026 secondary reporting describes twelve peptides, including ipamorelin salt forms, as removed from Category 2 in April 2026; this claim could not be confirmed against a primary FDA document for this entry and should be verified before being treated as settled. CJC-1295-related substances were separately voted against at the 4 December 2024 advisory committee meeting.
Warning letters name both compounds individually, and an August 2026 letter cites a marketed tesamorelin and ipamorelin blend. A CJC-1295 injectable was recalled as Class II in June 2025 for lack of assurance of sterility. Both are named in WADA section S2, prohibited at all times.
A vial labelled 15 mg tells a person how much powder is in the vial. It does not tell them how much of either drug they are injecting, and no amount of water, arithmetic or calculator recovers the missing number.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CJC-1295/Ipamorelin blend?
A vendor mixture of a GHRH analogue (usually the no-DAC form, despite the “CJC-1295” name) and ipamorelin, with no fixed or regulated ratio.
How much of each am I actually injecting?
It depends entirely on the split disclosed, or not disclosed, on your specific vial. The same reconstitution and draw can deliver a twofold-different amount depending on the unstated ratio.
Has the combination been studied?
No. No human or animal study has ever tested this specific pairing.
Is there real synergy evidence for this type of combination?
Yes, at the class level (different molecules, IV route, acute dosing), but not for the specific molecules or route in this product.
Is “CJC-1295” in the blend actually CJC-1295?
Usually not, it’s typically the different, no-DAC molecule with no human evidence.
Is it approved for any use?
No.
Is it banned in sports?
Yes, both components are named in WADA section S2.
What remains unknown?
Whether the combination does anything beyond either component alone, the actual per-injection dose in undisclosed-split vials, and product stability and purity.
Bottom line
This blend’s biggest problem isn’t a lack of research citations, vendors cite plenty, it’s that none of the cited research actually applies to what’s in the vial. The real GHRH+ghrelin-mimetic synergy literature exists and is genuinely interesting, but it used different molecules, a different route, and acute rather than chronic dosing. The one specific animal claim made for this exact combination in a peer-reviewed 2026 journal traces to a study that didn’t contain the compound. And because most vials don’t disclose their actual split, two buyers following identical instructions on identically labeled vials can inject meaningfully different doses of each component without either of them knowing it.
What circulates E5
| Reported use | Route | Amount reported | Frequency | Reported length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Growth hormone axis stimulation, starting figure | Subcutaneous | 100 mcg of each component | Once daily, usually at bedtime | 8 to 16 weeks, then 4 to 8 weeks off |
| Titrated figure | Subcutaneous | 100 to 300 mcg of each component | Once to three times daily | 12 to 16 weeks, then 4 to 8 weeks off |
| Stated as blend mass | Subcutaneous | 0.2 mg per injection (total or each unclear) | Once daily | Not specified |
| Nasal presentation | Intranasal spray | Approximately 83 mcg of each per actuation | Not specified | Not specified |
Circulating figures for this blend are written in micrograms of each component while the vials are labelled in combined milligrams, and no page located bridges the two. Not one circulating protocol found asks the reader to check the split before calculating anything, which is the step the arithmetic on this page shows cannot be skipped.
Placed against the record, the ipamorelin figures are small. The only dose of ipamorelin ever given to a human being in a published trial was 0.03 mg per kilogram intravenously twice daily, roughly 2.4 mg per dose for an 80 kg adult, about twenty four times the commonest circulating figure and by a different route. That trial missed its endpoint at p = 0.15. For the no DAC GHRH component there is no human dose of any size to compare against, because no human study of it exists.
The circulating material omits several things. It does not distinguish the DAC form from the no DAC form in the schedule, although their durations of action differ by orders of magnitude. It does not attribute its numbers: one guide describes the 100 mcg figure as commonly cited in the published research literature, a literature that does not contain it. It states no endpoint, no monitoring target and no stopping rule, so nothing defines the protocol not working. And it is silent on fluid retention, arthralgia, carpal tunnel symptoms and glucose tolerance, which are the dose limiting effects of growth hormone axis stimulation in the review literature on this class.
One protocol page states plainly that no phase 2 or phase 3 randomised trial has validated its escalation schedule, its five on two off rule or its two month pause, and that no prospective standardised study of onset exists for this combination. It then supplies the escalation schedule anyway. That is the honest description of every figure in this box.
Recorded as an observation about what is published elsewhere. No figure here is a dose, a protocol, or a recommendation, and nothing in this section is evidence that any amount is safe or effective.
Sources
- Teichman SL, et al. Prolonged stimulation of growth hormone and IGF-I secretion by CJC-1295, a long-acting analog of GH-releasing hormone, in healthy adults. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2006;91(3):799-805. Human. The only human pharmacokinetic programme for CJC-1295, and it studied the DAC form, half life 5.8 to 8.1 days. Source of every sustained and prolonged claim attached to blends that do not contain it. PMID 16352683
- Beck DE, et al. Randomized proof-of-concept study of the ghrelin mimetic ipamorelin for postoperative ileus in bowel resection patients. Int J Colorectal Dis 2014;29(12):1527-34. Human. Intravenous 0.03 mg/kg twice daily up to 7 days, 117 enrolled. Time to first tolerated meal 25.3 versus 32.6 hours, p = 0.15, not significant. The only published human trial of ipamorelin. PMID 25331030
- Raun K, et al. Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue. Eur J Endocrinol 1998. Preclinical. Original characterisation, and the source of the selectivity that distinguishes ipamorelin from GHRP-6 and hexarelin, which is the reason the GHRP-6 synergy literature cannot simply be assumed to transfer. PMID 9849822
- Popovic V, et al. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 1994;79(2):456-60. Human. Twelve normal subjects, GH area under the curve 686 for GHRH, 1787 for GHRP-6, 4111 combined, significantly greater than the arithmetic sum. The cleanest demonstration of true synergy in the class, and absent in acromegaly. PMID 8045963
- Arvat E, et al. J Clin Endocrinol Metab 2001;86(3):1169-74. Human. Seven healthy young men. Ghrelin plus GHRH gave a GH area under the curve of 3374 against 620 and 1895 alone, described as a real synergistical effect. Ghrelin plus hexarelin showed no interaction, an internal control on receptor specificity. PMID 11238504
- Andersen NB, et al. The growth hormone secretagogue ipamorelin counteracts glucocorticoid-induced decrease in bone formation of adult rats. Growth Horm IGF Res 2001;11(5):266-72. Preclinical, rats. Ipamorelin given alongside methylprednisolone raised maximum tetanic tension and periosteal bone formation. CJC-1295 is not present in this study, which is the point of the correction on this page. PMID 11735244
- Dominikowski A, et al. The emerging landscape of performance-enhancing peptides modulating the GH-IGF1 axis. Front Endocrinol 2026;17:1822475. Review. States that the half life of CJC-1295 without DAC is not reported in human studies, that the combination with ipamorelin is largely driven by anecdotal rationale, and that no human trials of the combination exist. PMID 42395176
- Mayfield CK, et al. Injectable peptide therapy: a primer for orthopaedic and sports medicine physicians. Am J Sports Med 2026;54(1):223-9. Review, cited for the correction and not for support. Its abstract states that CJC-1295 combined with ipamorelin improved maximum tetanic tension in murine glucocorticoid-induced muscle loss. Full text was not retrievable. PMID 41476424
- Kwok WH, et al. Anal Bioanal Chem 2013;405(8):2595-606. Analytical, horse plasma. Detects GHRP-1, GHRP-2, GHRP-6, ipamorelin, hexarelin and CJC-1295 below 50 pg/mL. The only PubMed record before 2026 containing both compound names. PMID 23318763
- Phase 2, completed, enrolment 117, start April 2008. Human. Ipamorelin alone against placebo. One of only four ClinicalTrials.gov records returned for CJC-1295 or ipamorelin across the whole registry, none of which combines them. NCT00672074
- Phase 2, terminated, enrolment 120, start December 2005, no results posted. Human. CJC-1295 alone. The only registered trial of CJC-1295 in any form. The fourth registry record, NCT01280344, is a completed 320-patient phase 2 of ipamorelin alone after bowel resection whose results were never published. NCT00267527
- US Food and Drug Administration. Voluntary recall initiated 21 May 2025 and classified Class II on 20 June 2025 of a CJC-1295 injectable, described as 6 mg/15 mg pre-filled syringes, two lots, 60 syringes, for lack of assurance of sterility. Class II means use may cause temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences. FDA enforcement report, classified 20 June 2025
- US Food and Drug Administration. Ipamorelin free base and ipamorelin acetate. Recommended against inclusion on the 503A bulk drug substances list, citing inadequate characterisation, immunogenicity concern and the failure of the 2014 intravenous trial. The committee voted 12 to 0 against both forms. FDA media 182088
- US Food and Drug Administration. Five CJC-1295-related bulk drug substances, free base, acetate and three DAC forms. Recommended against all five. Records that no studies were found describing use of a compounded product containing any form of CJC-1295, and reports a genotoxicity signal. FDA media 183819
- US Food and Drug Administration. Ipamorelin acetate's confirmed Category 2 listing, dated 29 September 2023, is under the 503B interim list, a separate track from its withdrawn and rejected 503A nomination. CJC-1295 forms have followed the 503A track and were recommended against in December 2024. Some 2026 secondary reporting describes a 15 April 2026 removal of twelve peptides, including ipamorelin salt forms, from Category 2; this entry could not confirm that removal against a primary FDA document and treats it as unverified. Removal from Category 2, if and when it occurs, does not add a substance to the 503A list. FDA 503A/503B interim lists
- US Food and Drug Administration warning letter to a compounding pharmacy. Lists ipamorelin and CJC 1295 individually among the bulk substances compounded from, and cites unapproved drug products and insanitary conditions, including a product released above label strength. FDA WL 594743
- US Food and Drug Administration warning letter to an online peptide retailer, citing seven products as unapproved new drugs under sections 301(d) and 505(a), one of them a marketed dual peptide blend of tesamorelin 10 mg and ipamorelin 3 mg. Puts an asymmetric blend of this class on the regulatory record. FDA WL 734884
- World Anti-Doping Agency. Section S2 names CJC-1295 among GHRH analogues and ipamorelin among growth hormone secretagogues and their mimetics. Both are non-specified substances prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. WADA S2
Research area: Growth hormone axis.