This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Ac-SDKP | Larazotide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E3 Early human evidence Small, open-label, uncontrolled, case series, or a registered trial with no published results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not FDA-approved; not known to be in active clinical development; research/mechanistic-study compound | Not FDA-approved; Phase 3 celiac disease trial (NCT03569007) terminated in 2022 after interim futility analysis; no active pivotal trial identified |
| Research area | Tissue repair and recovery | Tissue repair and recovery |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C20H33N5O9 | C32H55N9O10 (free peptide, per PubChem) |
| Molar mass | Approximately 487.51 g/mol | Not reliably established |
| CAS number | 120081-14-3 | 881851-50-9 |
| Registered trials on this site | None linked yet | 5 in the tracker |
| What is not known | No completed human clinical trial administering Ac-SDKP itself (at any dose or route) was identified in the sources reviewed for this entry. A 2006 published review (Cavasin, PMID 17083265) explicitly states no clinical trial data existed supporting its use for cardiac healing at that time,... | Larazotide's trial record shows an inconsistent efficacy signal: some Phase 1b/2b gluten-challenge and Phase 2 dose-ranging endpoints reportedly reached statistical significance, but the definitive Phase 3 trial for persistent symptoms in celiac disease on a gluten-free diet (NCT03569007) was terminated in 2022 after an interim... |
| Furthest registered phase | Not stated | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | Not stated | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Not stated | Massachusetts General Hospital, 9 Meters Biopharma, Inc. |
Full pages: Ac-SDKP and Larazotide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.