This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Adipotide | Cagrilintide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E3 Early human evidence Small, open-label, uncontrolled, case series, or a registered trial with no published results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | In clinical development, not approved |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C111H206N36O28S2 (per PubChem) | C194H312N54O59S2, supplier data sheet only, not confirmed against a peer-reviewed or regulatory source |
| Molar mass | Not independently re-derived for this entry from an authoritative source; PubChem lists the compound under the formula above without an easily accessible listed molecular weight in the pages reviewed. Regard any specific mass figure seen elsewhere online as unverified until confirmed against PubChem directly. | 4409.01 g/mol average, supplier derived, not independently confirmed |
| CAS number | 859216-15-2 | 1415456-99-3, supplier derived and cross-listed on secondary references, not confirmed against a primary source |
| Registered trials on this site | 1 in the tracker | 14 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 1 | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | 0 | 2 |
| Trial sponsors | M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | Novo Nordisk A/S |
| What is not known | Whether Adipotide is safe or effective in a general, non-cancer, human obesity population; no such trial has ever been conducted. The specific human doses used in the one Phase I trial that was conducted (NCT01262664), and its results, since the trial was terminated with only... | What cagrilintide monotherapy does in type 2 diabetes, at arm level. The REIMAGINE 2 arm of 152 people and the four-arm chronic kidney disease trial NCT06131372 both contain monotherapy data, and neither has reached the accessible literature as arm-level numbers. What the drug does to... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | NCT03600480: Cagrilintide 0.16, 0.30, 0.60, 1.2, 2.4 or 4.5 mg once weekly or matched placebo, 3:1; every arm also received semaglutide 2.4 mg once weekly, co-escalated in 4 week intervals over 16 weeks then 4 weeks at target for 20 weeks on treatment plus 5 weeks of follow up NCT03856047: Cagrilintide 0.3, 0.6, 1.2, 2.4 or 4.5 mg once weekly, self injected, against liraglutide 3.0 mg once daily and placebo for 26 weeks including up to 6 weeks of escalation, then 6 weeks treatment free NCT04982575: Cagrilintide 2.4 mg once weekly, semaglutide 2.4 mg once weekly, or both together, 1:1:1 for 32 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Adipotide and Cagrilintide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.