This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Adipotide | Tesofensine | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E3 Early human evidence Small, open-label, uncontrolled, case series, or a registered trial with no published results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not approved for human use |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C111H206N36O28S2 (per PubChem) | C17H23Cl2NO free base; C23H31Cl2NO8 as the 1:1 citrate salt used in the clinical tablets |
| Molar mass | Not independently re-derived for this entry from an authoritative source; PubChem lists the compound under the formula above without an easily accessible listed molecular weight in the pages reviewed. Regard any specific mass figure seen elsewhere online as unverified until confirmed against PubChem directly. | 328.3 g/mol free base; 520.4 g/mol citrate salt |
| CAS number | 859216-15-2 | 195875-84-4 free base; 195875-86-6 citrate |
| Registered trials on this site | 1 in the tracker | 6 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 1 | Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | 0 | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | NeuroSearch A/S, Boehringer Ingelheim |
| What is not known | Whether Adipotide is safe or effective in a general, non-cancer, human obesity population; no such trial has ever been conducted. The specific human doses used in the one Phase I trial that was conducted (NCT01262664), and its results, since the trial was terminated with only... | Whether it is cardiovascularly safe, in either direction. No trial has ever measured myocardial infarction, stroke, cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure on tesofensine. The two year cardiovascular safety study in the planned phase 3 programme was never run, and the longest exposure in... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | SCEPTRE, NCT00148486: NS 2330 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo for 14 weeks ADVANS, NCT00148512: NS 2330 0.125, 0.25, 0.5 or 1.0 mg once daily, oral, or placebo, five parallel groups for 14 weeks NCT00153010: Three doses of NS 2330 once daily, oral, or placebo; the doses are not stated in the registry record for 14 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Adipotide and Tesofensine. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.