This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Apitegromab | Bimagrumab | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E1 Approved-label evidence FDA or EMA approved labelling for a specific indication. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not stated |
| Research area | Related non-peptide compounds | Related non-peptide compounds |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | Yes, approved labelling exists | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established | Not reliably established |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established | Not reliably established |
| CAS number | 2278276-46-1 | 1356922-05-8 |
| Registered trials on this site | 2 in the tracker | 4 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 2 / Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | 0 | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Scholar Rock, Inc. | Eli Lilly and Company, Novartis Pharmaceuticals |
| Published trials covered on its page | 2 | 2 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | SAPPHIRE (phase 3, NCT05156320) u2014 approved SMA regimen: Apitegromab 10 mg/kg by intravenous infusion once every 4 weeks, or placebo, as add-on therapy for 12 months (with an active, ongoing open-label extension) EMBRAZE (phase 2, NCT06445075) u2014 investigational GLP-1 combination: Apitegromab 10 mg/kg by intravenous infusion once every 4 weeks, or placebo, added to tirzepatide given to all subjects for 24 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. | BELIEVE (phase 2, NCT05616013): Bimagrumab 10 or 30 mg/kg IV (loading at weeks 1 and 4, then every 12 weeks), alone or with open-label semaglutide 1.0 or 2.4 mg subcutaneous weekly, versus placebo for 48 weeks primary, extension to 72 weeks RESILIENT (phase 2b/3, NCT01925209): Multiple bimagrumab IV dose levels vs placebo, approximately every 4 weeks for 52 weeks, with extension to 2 years As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
| What is not known | Whether the EMBRAZE phase 2 lean-mass-preservation results will be confirmed in a larger, phase 3, peer-reviewed trial, and whether apitegromab will ever be developed toward approval for a GLP-1-combination or weight-related indication. As of this review only a completed phase 2 trial exists for that... | Why Eli Lilly halted its bimagrumab-plus-tirzepatide obesity trial (NCT06901349) after less than a month in 2025. Secondary reporting states plainly that Lilly gave no specific reason; this entry does not speculate further. Whether bimagrumab will advance to phase 3 testing or approval in any indication,... |
Full pages: Apitegromab and Bimagrumab. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.