This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| ATX-304 | Cagrilintide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | In clinical development, not approved |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C16H11Cl2N3O2S | C194H312N54O59S2, supplier data sheet only, not confirmed against a peer-reviewed or regulatory source |
| Molar mass | ≈380.25 g/mol | 4409.01 g/mol average, supplier derived, not independently confirmed |
| CAS number | 1261289-04-6 | 1415456-99-3, supplier derived and cross-listed on secondary references, not confirmed against a primary source |
| Registered trials on this site | None linked yet | 14 in the tracker |
| What is not known | The exact dose, frequency, and duration used in the published 2018 human Phase IIa proof-of-concept trial; those details were not obtainable from the abstract-level source reviewed for this entry. The current status of any newer Amplifier Therapeutics clinical trial. Industry press from 2023 describes a... | What cagrilintide monotherapy does in type 2 diabetes, at arm level. The REIMAGINE 2 arm of 152 people and the four-arm chronic kidney disease trial NCT06131372 both contain monotherapy data, and neither has reached the accessible literature as arm-level numbers. What the drug does to... |
| Furthest registered phase | Not stated | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | Not stated | 2 |
| Trial sponsors | Not stated | Novo Nordisk A/S |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | NCT03600480: Cagrilintide 0.16, 0.30, 0.60, 1.2, 2.4 or 4.5 mg once weekly or matched placebo, 3:1; every arm also received semaglutide 2.4 mg once weekly, co-escalated in 4 week intervals over 16 weeks then 4 weeks at target for 20 weeks on treatment plus 5 weeks of follow up NCT03856047: Cagrilintide 0.3, 0.6, 1.2, 2.4 or 4.5 mg once weekly, self injected, against liraglutide 3.0 mg once daily and placebo for 26 weeks including up to 6 weeks of escalation, then 6 weeks treatment free NCT04982575: Cagrilintide 2.4 mg once weekly, semaglutide 2.4 mg once weekly, or both together, 1:1:1 for 32 weeks As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: ATX-304 and Cagrilintide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.