This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Brenipatide | Eloralintide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | In clinical development, not approved |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Addiction & Mental Health | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | C201H319N49O65S2, a figure appearing only on chemical supplier catalogues and in no Lilly paper or registration |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | 4526.10 Da, a figure appearing only on chemical supplier catalogues and in no Lilly paper or registration |
| CAS number | Not reliably established. | 2883634-40-8, a registry number appearing only on chemical supplier catalogues and in no Lilly paper or registration |
| Registered trials on this site | 4 in the tracker | 4 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | 3 | 1 |
| Trial sponsors | Eli Lilly and Company | Eli Lilly and Company |
| What is not known | Whether brenipatide reduces drinking or depressive symptoms in its phase 3 trials has not been established; topline data is expected around 2028. The specific per-arm doses used in the three phase 3 RENEW trials have not been independently confirmed from sources reviewed for this page... | Whether receptor selectivity or pharmacokinetics explains the tolerability profile. No trial is designed to separate them, the sponsor names both explanations in the same paragraph, and it expects the question to be settled by other companies' molecules rather than its own. What the phase 2... |
Full pages: Brenipatide and Eloralintide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.