This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Brenipatide | Enicepatide (CT-388) | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not stated |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Addiction & Mental Health | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | C226H345FN48O67, per a peer-reviewed phase 1 publication. |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | Approximately 4,825 Da, per the same publication; a commercial vendor lists 4,825.44 Da, consistent within rounding. |
| CAS number | Not reliably established. | Not reliably established; two secondary sources conflict (2919675-94-6 vs. 2869147-44-2) with no primary registry confirmation of either. |
| Registered trials on this site | 4 in the tracker | 6 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | 3 | 4 |
| Trial sponsors | Eli Lilly and Company | Hoffmann-La Roche, Carmot Therapeutics, Inc. |
| What is not known | Whether brenipatide reduces drinking or depressive symptoms in its phase 3 trials has not been established; topline data is expected around 2028. The specific per-arm doses used in the three phase 3 RENEW trials have not been independently confirmed from sources reviewed for this page... | The low- and middle-dose results from both phase 2 trials remain unreported in any source checked; only the top, 24 mg, dose's results have been disclosed publicly. The exact phase 3 dosing regimen has not been disclosed. The 24-week phase 1 extension cohort's exact dose... |
Full pages: Brenipatide and Enicepatide (CT-388). See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.