This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Brenipatide | Retatrutide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | In clinical development, not approved |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Investigational pipeline | Addiction & Mental Health | Not stated |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | Not reliably established |
| Molar mass | Not reliably established in publicly available sources reviewed for this page. | Not reliably established |
| CAS number | Not reliably established. | 2381089-83-2 |
| Registered trials on this site | 4 in the tracker | 7 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 3 | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | 3 | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Eli Lilly and Company | Eli Lilly and Company |
| What is not known | Whether brenipatide reduces drinking or depressive symptoms in its phase 3 trials has not been established; topline data is expected around 2028. The specific per-arm doses used in the three phase 3 RENEW trials have not been independently confirmed from sources reviewed for this page... | Its molecular weight. Figures circulate in chemical catalogues, but no primary publication or regulatory document names one, so none is asserted here. Whether it prevents anything. No cardiovascular or kidney outcome data exist. TRIUMPH-Outcomes, 10,000 participants across 743 sites, has a primary completion date of... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | NCT04867785: Retatrutide 0.5, 4, 8 or 12 mg once weekly, dulaglutide 1.5 mg once weekly, or placebo; the 4 mg and 8 mg maintenance doses were each given twice, differing only in starting dose for 36 weeks NCT04881760: Retatrutide 1, 4, 8 or 12 mg once weekly, or placebo, across seven arms; the 4 mg and 8 mg arms each ran with a 2 mg or a 4 mg starting dose for 48 weeks TRIUMPH-1, NCT05929066: Retatrutide 4, 9 or 12 mg once weekly after a 16 week fixed escalation, or placebo, 1:1:1:1 for 80 weeks, with an optional 24 week extension for about 500 participants As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Brenipatide and Retatrutide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.