This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| Adipotide | AOD-9604 | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E3 Early human evidence Small, open-label, uncontrolled, case series, or a registered trial with no published results. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not stated | Not approved for human use |
| Research area | Metabolic and incretin | Metabolic and incretin |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C111H206N36O28S2 (per PubChem) | C78H123N23O23S2 |
| Molar mass | Not independently re-derived for this entry from an authoritative source; PubChem lists the compound under the formula above without an easily accessible listed molecular weight in the pages reviewed. Regard any specific mass figure seen elsewhere online as unverified until confirmed against PubChem directly. | 1815.1 g/mol for the disulfide-cyclised form. The reduced linear form is about 1817.1, which vendor certificates sometimes quote instead. |
| CAS number | 859216-15-2 | 221231-10-3 |
| Registered trials on this site | 1 in the tracker | 3 in the tracker |
| Furthest registered phase | Phase 1 | Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | 0 | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | M.D. Anderson Cancer Center | Lateral Pharma Pty Ltd |
| What is not known | Whether Adipotide is safe or effective in a general, non-cancer, human obesity population; no such trial has ever been conducted. The specific human doses used in the one Phase I trial that was conducted (NCT01262664), and its results, since the trial was terminated with only... | Whether it causes fat loss in a human being at any dose by any route. The 12 week study produced a signal at its lowest dose, the 24 week confirmatory study found no significant difference against placebo, and no third study was ever run. The... |
| Published trials covered on its page | Not stated | 7 |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Not stated | METAOD001: 25 to 400 micrograms per kilogram, single intravenous doses for Single doses with a 7 day washout METAOD002: 25, 50 and 100 micrograms per kilogram, single intravenous doses for Single doses with a 7 day washout METAOD004: 9, 27 or 54 mg once daily, oral for 7 days As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. |
Full pages: Adipotide and AOD-9604. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.