This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| BPC-157 | Follistatin 344 | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E4 Preclinical only Animal or in vitro work. Not demonstrated in humans. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not approved for human use | Not approved in any form; only human data is from small, completed Phase 1/1-2 AAV gene-therapy trials for muscular dystrophy/myositis, not injectable protein use |
| Research area | Tissue repair and recovery | Growth hormone axis, Tissue repair and recovery |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C62H98N16O22 | Not reliably established |
| Molar mass | 1419.5 g/mol | Not reliably established |
| CAS number | 137525-51-0 | Not reliably established |
| Registered trials on this site | None linked yet | 2 in the tracker |
| Published trials covered on its page | 5 | Not stated |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Veljaca 2002 and 2003: Up to 2 mg/kg once daily, rectal enema for 8 days Ruenzi 2005: 80 mg once daily, rectal enema, against placebo for 2 weeks Lee 2021 chart review: 2 to 4 mg intra-articular injection, one or two doses for One or two injections, no set course As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. | Not stated |
| What is not known | What BPC-157 binds to. No receptor has been identified, no binding affinity measured, and no knockout or knockdown experiment has shown a required target, after roughly 230 papers. Whether it reaches the circulation in a human being. The only human measurement by any route found... | The largest open question for this entry is a category mismatch: essentially all human research on "follistatin-344" used AAV-vectored gene therapy causing a patient's own muscle to manufacture the protein locally over time, not a manufactured protein injected directly and repeatedly the way vendor "Follistatin... |
| Furthest registered phase | Not stated | Phase 1 / Phase 2 |
| Trials currently active | Not stated | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Not stated | Jerry R. Mendell, Nationwide Children's Hospital |
Full pages: BPC-157 and Follistatin 344. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.