This is a side-by-side of what is documented, not a ranking. Different compounds are studied for different things, in different people, at different amounts. A row that looks stronger for one compound does not make it the better choice for anyone.
| BPC-157 | Larazotide | |
|---|---|---|
| Highest evidence tier on the page | E4 Preclinical only Animal or in vitro work. Not demonstrated in humans. | E2 Human clinical evidence Registered or peer-reviewed human trial with reported results. |
| Regulatory status | Not approved for human use | Not FDA-approved; Phase 3 celiac disease trial (NCT03569007) terminated in 2022 after interim futility analysis; no active pivotal trial identified |
| Research area | Tissue repair and recovery | Tissue repair and recovery |
| Regulator-approved dose on file | No approved dose | No approved dose |
| Molecular formula | C62H98N16O22 | C32H55N9O10 (free peptide, per PubChem) |
| Molar mass | 1419.5 g/mol | Not reliably established |
| CAS number | 137525-51-0 | 881851-50-9 |
| Registered trials on this site | None linked yet | 5 in the tracker |
| Published trials covered on its page | 5 | Not stated |
| Amounts studied in those trials | Veljaca 2002 and 2003: Up to 2 mg/kg once daily, rectal enema for 8 days Ruenzi 2005: 80 mg once daily, rectal enema, against placebo for 2 weeks Lee 2021 chart review: 2 to 4 mg intra-articular injection, one or two doses for One or two injections, no set course As reported on the compound page. Amounts are not comparable between compounds. | Not stated |
| What is not known | What BPC-157 binds to. No receptor has been identified, no binding affinity measured, and no knockout or knockdown experiment has shown a required target, after roughly 230 papers. Whether it reaches the circulation in a human being. The only human measurement by any route found... | Larazotide's trial record shows an inconsistent efficacy signal: some Phase 1b/2b gluten-challenge and Phase 2 dose-ranging endpoints reportedly reached statistical significance, but the definitive Phase 3 trial for persistent symptoms in celiac disease on a gluten-free diet (NCT03569007) was terminated in 2022 after an interim... |
| Furthest registered phase | Not stated | Phase 3 |
| Trials currently active | Not stated | 0 |
| Trial sponsors | Not stated | Massachusetts General Hospital, 9 Meters Biopharma, Inc. |
Full pages: BPC-157 and Larazotide. See also the clinical trial tracker and how we grade evidence.
Educational reference, not medical advice. Trial data from ClinicalTrials.gov. Everything else is drawn from the compound pages on this site, each of which cites its sources.